brainerd baptist school enjoys and benefits from a close relationship with brainerd baptist church which founded bbs in 1953. while close institutions that share the campus, the school and the church are legally distinct institutions. bbs is its own 501c-3 with its own board, endowment, budget, programs and operations.  the school is a non-denominational christian school that provides an academically challenging program for students in prekindergarten through 5th grade.

since its inception, brainerd baptist school has prided itself on being one of the top elementary schools in chattanooga. our approach, along with our teachers and curriculum not only prepares our students to be accepted at the best college preparatory schools in chattanooga, it also ensures they excel once they get there. we work very closely with several middle/high schools to ensure that our students are prepared for the next step in their academic careers.


over 100,000 square feet in the main academic building that sits on an 8 acre campus in the historic belvoir area of chattanooga. students come from urban, suburban and rural communities within a 30-mile radius of chattanooga. 

tuition – (2019-2020)

$10,660 – 1st-5th grades

$10,180 – k5

$7,870 – k3 & k4 Monday – Friday

$6,440 – k3 & k4 Monday/Wednesday/Friday

$4,540 – k3 tuesday/thursday

faculty and staff

full time: 38

part-time: 10

total: 48

academic faculty holding advanced degrees: 40%

affiliations and accreditations

chattanooga area chamber of commerce

educational records bureau - (erb) 

the enrollment management association - (ssat)

mid-south independent school business officers - (misbo)

national association of independent schools – (nais)

southern association of independent schools – (sais)

tennessee association of independent schools – (tais)

united way center for nonprofits– (cnp)

board of trustees

mr. kyle boyd

mrs. celeste bradley

mrs. sherri burns

dr. colin clanton

mr. jeff collier

dr. sean corcoran (head of school)

mr. michael dickerson (executive pastor of bbc)

mr. cory hathorne (chair)

mrs. krisi johnson (secretary)

mr. matt lawson (treasurer)

mrs. amy jo osborne

mrs. sydni paris

mr. skip pond (vice chair)

mr. steve settle

mr. jacob stone

dr. nishani vincent

mr. josh woodard